Jury and Awards


Chi-hui Yang
He has presented programmes such as MoMA’s Documentary Fortnight, “Lines and Nodes: Media, Infrastructure, and Aesthetics” (2014, Anthology Film Archives) and “The Age of Migration” (2008, Flaherty Film Seminar). From 2000-2010 he was director of the San Francisco International Asian American Film Festival. He has a master’s degree in film studies from San Francisco State University and a bachelor’s degree in political science from Stanford University.

Luana Melgaço
Brazilian Luana Melgaço is a partner at Anavilhana. She worked as a producer or executive producer on more than 20 short and feature-length films, notably Swirl (2010), Breath (2012), Where I Grow Old (2016), While We Are Here (2019) and Brief Story from the Green Planet (2019). Her films have been screened and awarded at the main film festivals in Brazil and abroad, and commercially released in several countries.

Matthijs Wouter Knol
Matthijs is the director of the European Film Market since 2014. He worked as creative producer on numerous documentary films and produced film installations, conferences and publications. He ran the IDFAcademy training programme and initiated its Summer School. He headed the Berlinale Talents (2008-2014) and co-founded the Berlinale Residency programme. He is a regular speaker and moderator at conferences and festivals and has been part of international juries.



Arquipélago – Contemporary Art Center Award for Best Project in the Writing and Development Stage
Two-weeks artistic residency, between January and June 2020, at the Contemporary Art Center Arquipélago, Island of São Miguel, Azores.
Located in the middle of the Atlantic, in São Miguel, the largest of the nine islands of the archipelago of Azores – Arquipélago is a transdisciplinary art center that hosts projects of creation, production and exhibition of contemporary arts.

RTP Award for Best Project in the Editing Stage and Works-in-Progress
Co-production award for a project in the editing stage and works-in-progress. RTP will contribute with 25.000,00€ for feature films and 15.000,00€ for short films.
RTP is the public service operator of radio and television of Portugal.

FCSH Award for Best Project
Faculdade de Ciências Sociais e Humanas, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa Award consisting in 1.000,00€ monetary prize, awarded to the best project participating in the 2019 edition of Arché.