Doclisboa’16 | Final Balance

The 14th edition of Doclisboa – International Film Festival, which closed on October 30th, was attended by 26.000 visitors (excluding the programme beyond the festival dates), meaning an increase in the number of tickets sold compared to the previous year.

These numbers show Doclisboa’s success in terms of the level of demand, quality and relevance of its programme.

Over 11 days Doclisboa screened 259 films from 41 countries, with 46 world premieres, 15 of which in the competitions. Doclisboa has considerably strengthened its image at an international level, asserting its dimension and prestige. This is the result of the recognition by the producers and directors who, more and more, elect Doclisboa to present their films for the first time.

Calabria, by Pierre-François Sauter, won the City of Lisbon Award for Best Competition Film. Sol Negro by Laura Huertas-Millán received a Special Mention in this competition. Cláudia Varejão’s Ama-San was the winner in the Portuguese Competition. 300 Miles, by Orwa Al Mokdad, won the award for Best First Feature.

The International and Portuguese Competition jury awards went to Azayz, by Ilias El Faris, and Where I Grow Old, by Marília Rocha. Correspondences, by Rita Azevedo Gomes, won the José Saramago Foundation and Livraria Lello Award for best documentary in competition spoken in Portuguese, Galician or Portuguese origin Creole, comprising Competitions and New Visions.

Downhill, by Miguel Faro, won the Público Newspaper Award for best short-film. Downhill is automatically eligible for consideration in the Best Documentary (Short Subject) category of the Academy Awards®, as a result of Doclisboa’s collaboration with the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

Cruzeiro Seixas – As Cartas do Rei Artur, by Cláudia Rita Oliveira, won the Audience Award and Edgar Pêra’s The Amazed Spectator won the Schools Award. In the Green Sections, with a competitive section section for the first time, the winners of the La Guarimba Award and the Special Award of the Jury were respectively Pulse, by Robin Petré, and The Edge of the World, by Kate Saragaço-Gomes.

Image © Wesley Prado